Wednesday, December 23, 2015

EPTSD Teachers and Support Staff of the Year

Congratulations to our Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year from Magowan and Ridgway Schools.   They were selected by our staff for their professionalism and continued dedication to our schools, students, and community.  We appreciate all that they do!

Ridgway Support Staff of the Year Robin Reeve
Ridgway Teacher of the Year Cindy Howgate

Magowan Support Staff of the Year Charlotte Fitzpatrick and Principal Betsy Miles
Magowan Teacher of the Year Karen Kaluhiokalni and Principal Betsy Miles

Friday, December 11, 2015

December 11, 2015

District News:

  • The next Board of Education meeting will be on Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 6:00 pm in the Ridgway Cafeteria.  Click HERE to see the agenda.  
  • The Board of Education's annual reorganization meeting will be on Tuesday, January 5, 2016 at 7:00 pm in the Ridgway Library.
  • Wednesday, December 23, 2015 will be a 4-hour day for all students and staff.  Schools will be closed from December 24, 2015 through Sunday, January 3, 2016.  School will reopen on Monday, January 4, 2016.
  • On Tuesday, January 26, 2016, a special election will be held on a proposed bond referendum.  Polls will be open at Magowan and Ridgway Schools from 2:00 pm to 9:00 pm.  Click HERE for more information, including a tax impact calculator.  Click HERE to see the Fast Facts Flier.  Click HERE for a Voter Registration Form.   

Magowan School News:
  • Assemblyman, Mr. Troy Singleton recently sponsored a reading incentive program for 1st - 4th grade students.  The goal was to read as many books as possible from September through November 23, 2015. Congratulations and thank you to the following grade level participants.
    • First Grade:   Anne Cardoso, Lacie Abriola, Sean Callaghan, Isabele Silvino, Derin Igdeli, Madison Bentley, Peyton Corrington, Nicholas Rodd, Thalia Warren, Gabriel Barrera, Damon Harper, Joseph Carcasio, Daphne Cintron, Milana Koveloski
    • Second Grade:   Hannah Congdon, Yaasameen Mughal, Jaden Rich, Jason Carr, Diamond Garrett, Tuana Ozdemir, Alivia Vanard, Daija Parker, Alper Temur, Ceren Firat, Eathen Snowden, Jillian Jordan, Demarius Weikel
    • Third Grade:    Alexine Hernandez-Gonzalez, Kiley Snover, Juliana Vargas Melendez, Diego Rosado, Alana Green, Mary Omorodion, Jahnese Session
    • Fourth Grade:   Marissa Edmonds, Kassandra Borjas Funes, Karma Garrett
  • Congratulations to the following grade level winners!
    • First ~ Madison Bentley
    • Second ~ Jillian Jordan
    • Third ~ Diego Rosado
    • Fourth ~ Karma Garrett
  • Congratulations to our school winners, first grader,  Madison Bentley who read 260 books and third grader, Diego Rosado who read 211 books!  Madison and Diego will be treated to a Bowling Party on Saturday, December 12, 2015.  Congratulations all readers and KEEP READING!!
  • Magowan’s Winter Concert is scheduled for Wednesday, December 16, 2015.  Everyone is welcome to come enjoy the event at Ridgway School at 7:00 pm.  After months of hard work, it is sure to be a fantastic concert!
  • The PTO will sponsor the annual Holiday Shop for children, The Shop will open on December 14th and close on the 18th.  
Magowan School collected for Toys For Tots

Ridgway School News:
  • Ridgway School will be hosting the annual Elks Club “Hoop Shoot” on December 5th.
  • The PTO Book Fair will run from December 14th-18th.
  • Progress reports will be issued on December 17th.
  • The Ridgway Winter Concert will be held at 7 pm on December 17th.
  • Ridgway’s Annual PBSIS Roller Skating Incentive trip will be held on December 22nd for 5th to 8th grade students who have not had a disciplinary infraction from November 3rd through the day of the trip.
  • 8th grade parents- Send a personalized message to your graduates.  $5 per line, $10 per ¼ page, $25 per ½ page. $50 per full page.  Please see Ms. Reilly or Mrs Stellwag for any questions or submissions by December 23rd.
Ridgway Student Council collect canned goods for those in need:  Mya Webb, Keyon Luff, Matthew Myers, Faiza Hoque, Brijal Patal

Ridgway National Junior Honor Societ collected for Toys For Tots:  Aleyna Kangal, Keyon Luff, David May, Rob Lynch, Torin Middlebrooks, John Coppola, Rebecca Schuck, Julia Kennedy, Hilal Tiryaki

PTO News:
  • We are still in need for volunteers for Ridgway Book Fair and Magowan Holiday Shop, which will both run the week of 12/14/15-12/18/15.  Please email if you are able to help.
  • The Ridgway Book Fair evening shop will be open 6pm - 8pm on Wednesday, December 16th during Magowans Winter Concert and also on Thursday, December 16th during Ridgways Winter Concert.  
  • Magowans Holiday Shop evening shop will be open on Tuesday, December 15th, 6:30pm-8pm.  
  • Cherrydale Pick Up is scheduled for Tuesday, December 15th between the hours of 6:00pm-8pm
  • Our Next PTO Meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 4th at 7:00 pm in the Ridgway Library.  Come out and show your support and share any ideas you have.